SAG Awards: You won’t believe who got snubbed

The Screen Actor’s Guild has just revealed their nominations for their upcoming awards, but fans of some very popular TV shows are likely to be floored by a few selections.

Popular hits like Empire were totally shut out of the SAG award nominations, which is likely to be met with strong criticism for snubbing the two critical favorites, according to a Hollywood Reporter report.

Meanwhile, Dame Maggie Smith earned a nomination for her work on Downtown Abbey, despite how limited her role actually is on the show. But her nomination meant that Emmy nominees like Taraji P. Henson of Empire or Tatiana Maslany from Orphan Black were shut out of this year’s nominations despite being nominated last year. Other popular actresses excluded included Keri Russell of The Americans, Lena Headey of Game of Thrones, and the Mad Men actresses.

If you don’t see any nominations for Fargo, fear not, it’s actually not getting snubbed by SAG voters. Instead, Fargo, along with American Horror Story, were switched to the drama category this year.

A few nominations were a surprise. Bill Murray got a nomination for A Very Murray Christmas, and Ben Kingsley got a nod for Tut, as did Ray Liotta for Texas Rising. It certainly helps that Fargo is no longer in their category, leaving less competition.”The 22nd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards … will be produced by Avalon Harbor Entertainment, Inc. and nationally simulcast live on TNT and TBS on Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016 at 8 p.m. (ET) / 5 p.m. (PT),” the SAG news release states. “TBS and TNT subscribers will also be able to watch the SAG Awards live through the networks’ websites and mobile apps. In addition, TNT will present a primetime encore of the ceremony immediately following the live presentation.”

Like This Post? ... Then Like Our Page :)

Add Comment

Web Statistics
Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :